top of page


The Central Armed Police Forces (CAPF) refers to uniform nomenclature of five security forces in India under the authority of Ministry of Home Affairs. They are the Border Security Force (BSF), Central Reserve Police Force (CRPF), Central Industrial Security Force (CISF), Indo-Tibetan Border Police (ITBP), and Sashastra Seema Bal (SSB).



Recruitment is conducted mainly in three modes.


Gazetted Officers

Officers in CAPFs are recruited through Central Armed Police Forces (Assistant Commandants) Examination conducted by UPSC. They are appointed as Assistant Commandants and are Gazetted Officers generally referred as DAGOs (Directly Appointed Gazetted Officers). DEGOs (Departmental Entry Gazetted Officers) are who have been promoted through departmental exams conducted internally for Subordinate Officers.


Subordinate Officers

Sub Inspectors are recruited through competitive examination conducted by Staff Selection Commission and they are referred as DASOs (Directly Appointed Subordinate Officers). DESOs (Departmental Entry Subordinate Officers) are who have been promoted through departmental exams conducted internally for Constables, Head Constables and Assistant Sub Inspectors.



Constables are recruited through competitive examination conducted by Staff Selection Commission.

Apart from above modes, CAPFs conduct recruitment for specialized posts such as Engineers, Doctors etc. among DAGOs and Wireless operators, Technicians, Nursing Staff etc. among subordinate officers and constables directly under their own authority.


Recruitment Department

The recruitment of the candidates in the CAPF is done by the Union Public Service Commission as well the staff selection commission and respective service HQs for the various posts according to the qualification of the candidates. For the higher levels posts, IPS officers are deputed.


Central Reserve Police Force (CRPF)

The Central Reserve Police Force is the largest of the Central Armed Police Forces units with 313,678 personnel in 239 battalions. The Central Reserve Police includes:


Border Security Force (BSF)

The primary role of the Border Security Force is to guard the border of the India with Pakistan and Bangladesh, it is deployed both on the IB and the LOC. The BSF also has active roles during times of war. It has 257,363 personnel in 186 battalions and is headed by an Indian Police Service officer.


Indo-Tibetan Border Police (ITBP)

The Indo-Tibetan Border Police is deployed for guarding duties on the border with China from Karakoram Pass in Ladakh to Diphu La in Arunachal Pradesh covering a total distance of 3488 km. It has 89,432 personnel in 56 fighting, 2 DM and 4 specialized battalions.


Central Industrial Security Force (CISF)

One of the largest industrial security forces in the world, the Central Industrial Security Force provides security to various Public Sector Undertakings (PSUs) and other critical infrastructure installations, major airports across the country and provides security during elections and other internal security duties and VVIP protection. It has a total strength of about 144,418 personnel in 132 battalions including 9 reserve battalions.


Sashastra Seema Bal (SSB)

The objective of the Sashastra Seema Bal (English: Armed Border Force) is to guard the Indo-Nepal and Indo-Bhutan Borders. It has 76,337 personnel and 67 battalions, as well as some reserved battalions.



Oath ceremony Of AC's Of CPF
bottom of page